DME and Luggage Arrival Time

Christine

DIS Veteran
I just booked my DME reservation. Of note, after booking, was the statement that luggage make take up to 3 hours to arrive after hotel check-in. I read that over a few times to try to grasp what it was saying. Since check in is at around 3:00PM, I guess that means that I may not get my bags until 6:00PM possibly?

We have 16 people and all of us arriving at MCO at around 9:30AM. We are staying at GF so I assume we'll get over there by 11:30 or so and we were going to just hang out. BUT...we have a big dinner, birthday celebration at Citrocos. I'm sure some of us may want to change before dinner. I've never used DME before so I have no idea how efficient the luggage delivery is. I think if it's going to be an issue getting luggage from a 9:30 flight until much later in the afternoon, I may have to reconsider using it but I'd like to hear what your experience has been. Thanks!

Most of the time I've used DME my luggage has been delivered to my room within 3 hours. One time, however, they missed it at the airport, after a 9pm arrival at MCO, I didn't get it until the next day!

If you're really concerned about not having what you need for the dinner, you can pick up your luggage at baggage claim and take it with you on DME.

Last edited:
Short answer: Put things you need for the first 24 hours (e.g. toothbrush, swimsuit, dressy clothes for arrival day dinner) in carryons, namely hand carry those things.

Bags delivered by Magical Express should get to your room within 3 hours of when you can. This is really a semantic gimmick, to give DME something like 4-1/2 hours to process bags while advertising 3 hours.

But bags won't be left outside. If your room was not ready 3 hours after you touched the door handle the bags should be delivered as soon as a bellhop run can be scheduled after the room is ready.

Most guests who arrive during daylight won't notice since they will be getting back from a park in the evening.