DL Trip May 7th thru 10th The good and the bad!

sorcerormickey

DIS Veteran
Well, what a myriad of emotions mixed into one trip! I've never done a report before, so bear with me! /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I'll just give ya the highs and lows, and some gory details to!

We left on Sunday night, landing at LAX at 9PM. Haven't been there in 10 years, so I was a little lost in finding the baggage. (We just followed the herd of folks in front of us!!) After grabbing our bags, we headed to find a shuttle to DL. We had previously decided on SuperShuttle - mistake #1! It was awful! The driver did not speak much English, and listened to rap music the whole trip! He then did not know how to get to a certain hotel, so he asked me to write down the directions the dispatcher radioed over! We were very happy to get to the DLH and be rid of him!
We checked in and everything was fine.

The next morning was an EE for DL, so we caught the tram at 8AM, and stood at the end of the longest line I had ever seen! We finally made it to the gate a little after 9AM, and then they would not let us in! We had our 1-Day comp tix given to us at work. The girl asked us if we were on-site Guests, which we said we were at the DLH. She said "PROVE IT!" So, I got out my room key, she said it could have been from a year ago - she needed our resort ID. No one ever mentioned that, and I did not have it with me! She said we had to go back to the Hotel and get it. By this time, my girlfriend was in tears - this was her first visit to DL, and it was being ruined! By the time we got back to the room, got the ID, and took the tram back, it was after the 10AM opening time anyways.

The next 3 days went by without a hitch. The parade was fun (my girlfriend enjoyed the almost naked Tarzan!) and lots of restaurants with great food. Hard to choose a fave place to eat! (Maybe Redd Rockett's)