Disney's Anti-3D-Scanning Patent / Is scanning/copying theft?

ConeyLighthouse

Brooklyn Boy
Related to the news story mentioned on the Dis Unplugged podcast for this week, linked to below, Disney has filed a patent for anti-3D-scanning material so they can protect their intellectual property (like action figures) from being 3D scanned and duplicated.

https://3dprintingindustry.com/news...-scanning-filament-3d-printing-method-115659/

Is it theft? Is copying something without hurting the original item theft? If you would not have ever purchased the original item, then is Disney actually losing money? It's an interesting question. Also, would this stop people or would they be able to just paint over the material and still be able to 3D scan it?

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on the internet. But if a person was to copy something and then turn around and sell it, yes that is theft of intellectual property.

Agreed! But what if they are not selling it? What if they share the design publicly and people just download it and print it at home?

Those my age and older will recall a time before iPhones, iPods, and even CDs where the only effective way to listen to "albums" in your car was to copy the album to a cassette tape. That wide-spread practice still constituted copyright infringement. It wasn't criminal, but it was still infringement. Technically, if you wanted the album on tape, you were supposed to buy both the album and the cassette tape. Later on, if memory serves, music publishers changed the license terms for the albums/CDs to permit "archival" duplication (they most likely changed the terms to avoid the argument that they waived their rights).

For all its reputation for being heavy handed, Disney is actually quite liberal in tolerating personal use of its trademarks and, to a degree, its copyrighted material.