Disneyland. The GOOD, the BAD and the MAD...

Rich Page

Earning My Ears
Just home from our trip to Pasadena and Anaheim and thought I'd write up some notes about our adventure. I haven't really done a trip report before so here goes nothing.

First things first, a little bit about us and the reason for the trip. My name is Rich, Dad to Ellice and husband to Jay. I'm a toy/collectable designer (umetoys.net) and a longtime Disney fan. We've visited the Paris parks a few times but would call WDW our home parks as we've been lucky enough to visit Florida a lot over the years.

When we got the invite to visit Designer Con 2015 in Pasadena for the weekend of November 21st we jumped at the chance and knew we would be doubling it up as a 'first visit' holiday to Disneyland and California Adventure.

This trip was also going to be a new challenge for us as it would be our first time flying internationally with a wheelchair and also visiting the parks with one. My wife's health has really taken a turn for the the worse this year and continues to, so much so, she needs a wheelchair all the time and can't really walk (unless helped) more than a couple of steps.

I'm writing this report to maybe help first time visitors a little, with some of what we found out along the way with our trip.

We flew from Heathrow to LAX and because we had the wheelchair and 3 adults I decided to book the transfers around California before we left. I used a company called 24-7 Ride and was pleasantly surprised how easy it was. Everything is paid for upfront (apart for gratuity). We had a van each time, which were all clean and tidy and the drivers pleasant and chatty. Each night before travel we received and email telling us the drivers name and contact number, but didn't need it as they always arrived early.