Disney Transportation to ship or not?

goofy4prez

A guy can love Disney and still keep his man card!
We (3 adults) will be sailing on the Fantasy this June 8th to the Western Caribbean (our first cruise) and prior to this cruise we will be spending 4 nights at WDW and staying at POR. The question I have is would you use Disney transportation from the resort to the port or use someone else? Would you also use it to take you to the airport or not after the cruise? Right now I'm not sure. My concern would be getting to the ship late when most are already on board. I'm starting to sound here like when I was a newbie on these boards over 10 years ago and planning my first WDW trip. :rotfl:

At three guests, you are in the zone where DCL transfers become as expensive as other options. If you use them, you will arrive a few hours before all-aboard time, but lunch onboard might be over by then. An advantage is that they collect your luggage at the room and you get it back on the ship. All other options involve you carrying them to the car/van/bus and dropping them off at the porters at the terminal.

We like to arrive ASAP and get onboard the minute it is possible. Embarkation lunch is a tradition and I would not miss it. For those reasons, I would chose another option to get there, probably Lyft/Uber or a limo service like FL Tours, Happy Limo or Tiffany Town Car. To get back to the airport after the cruise, the only reason to use a limo or car or cab is if you need to get there very early. If your flight is after noon, I would take the DCL shuttle. You do not have to use them for both legs.

I found private transport for our family of 4 for $150ish (tip included). We can schedule our own time. We like to get there EARLY! We want every moment on board possible. This fee will be about the same as disney transportation and we will go straight there, on our time table.