Disney Keeps Me Running!

clemsondisneygirl

Mouseketeer
Intro:
Hi everyone! I'm Ashley, 29, and addicted to Disney (which I'm pretty sure is how most of us end up here in the first place). I got married last June to a non-Disney fanatic and am taking him on his first trip since childhood coming up in April, when I am also running the Star Wars Dark Side half marathon.

Disney Background - I don't have a count for how many WDW trips I've made but I've been going fairly consistently since I was about 5. After college I was in a floundering stage so I took an internship as a Disney cast member, which was both incredibly fun and kind of "magic squashing" all at the same time. But no worries, I've clearly bounced back. My family (dad, mom and sister) are also quite hooked and I am the planner for our yearly trips now.

Running Background - I've been running for 2 years now, consistently-ish. I would not consider myself fast by any means but I get out there and get the miles in as best as I possibly can. I've completed a bunch of 5ks, a few 10ks, 3 triathlons and 1 half marathon. I am a gadget nerd and gear + analyzing my stats are my favorite thing about exercise generally. Right now I run with a Tom Tom multisport watch and my Microsoft band (which is also everyday activity tracker). My whole family and many friends have fitbits so I also kept mine even after I got a Microsoft band so that I can compete with them. :) I generally also upload my runs to the runkeeper app. I told you I was a gadget nerd!

I hope to use this journal to keep up with my training and report on my races and trips over the next month or so! Hope you enjoy!

Races in 2016
January - Rock 'n' Roll Arizona 10k

February - no racing :(

March - Kiss Me I'm Irish 17k

April - Star Wars Dark Side Half Marathon
Pat's Run 4.2