Disney College Program Lifeguard

Samantha Bunten

Earning My Ears
Hello, new person here! Im Sam and I'm a sophomore in college. I want to apply for DCP for Spring 2018 and my top choice position is lifeguarding. I know Disney provides lifeguard training on site, but what if I am already certified as a lifeguard? Do I still do the training at Disney on top of my current certification? Also, side note, does anyone know how good the odds are of getting a lifeguard placement if it's my top choice? Thank you!

Last edited:
Hello, new person here! Im Sam and I'm a sophomore in college. I want to apply for DCP for Spring 2018 and my top choice position is lifeguarding. I know Disney provides lifeguard training on site, but what if I am already certified as a lifeguard? Do I still do the training at Disney on top of my current certification? Also, side note, does anyone know who good the odds are of getting a lifeguard placement if it's my top choice? Thank you!

You will have a great chance of getting that role if it's your first choice and you speak with interviewer about it. Of course, Disney does what Disney does, so no guarantees! You will have to take their Ellis lifesaving/CPR course no matter what. Disney will also "own" your certification and you can't use it elsewhere. My DD had to take the CPR course for her role and even though she took a refresher every month for the ten months she was there, she could not bring a card home. She has to take a course here now for her job.

I hope everything works out for you! My girls have loved their programs so much!

Just search on Youtube for "Disney Lifeguard" there are several videos on what it is like to Lifeguard there. It sounds like if you have the qualifications it is pretty easy to get since there is such a big need for Lifeguards between the waterparks and all the resort pools.