Did We Make the Right Move?

SRUAlmn

DIS Veteran
We were booked at Pop Century with our toddler for Sept 24-30. Up until I made the decision to stay home with my little one last August, I was a teacher and we’ve never had the opportunity to go in Sept when crowds were lower. We were excited, and then Disney announced SWGE. So we’d been battling with what to do, but we’ve never had free dining before so that was our reason for keeping our dates.

Pros for our trip: seeing the last Illuminations, possible skyliner (we didn’t know at the time when for sure it would open,) potentially low-ish crowds in the other non DHS parks, free dining, getting to be some of the “first” people to experience a lot of the new things (although that’s not super important to us,) and we’d never been to Food & Wine before (although we’re not super “foodies”) Also, just for reference, we weren’t planning to do MNSSHP because we didn’t think we could keep our little one up that late

Cons: rain, heat, SWGE crowds

Well, today when we found out free dining was being offered later in the fall we decided to change our dates. I’m thinking the crowds might be better (?) since SWGE will have been open for 2+ months and the new ride won’t open until after our trip (hoping it’s a little sweet spot, maybe I’m naive!) By changing, we reduce heat and rain by a bit or possibly by a lot (we live in SC so we know Nov can vary a lot,) and we’ll be able to use the Skyliner now (which wasn’t going to open until our last day if we’d gone in Sept.) There is also more potential for some of the new things announced as opening in the “fall” to be open when we go now. Also, Christmas decorations!!