Developmentally delayed DS age 3 at WDW

admepo

Mouseketeer
Hello! This is my first time posting on this board. I have a DS who just turned 3 at the end of May. He has been to WDW at age 26 months BEFORE we have been through every road of evaluations, EIP, speech, OT, neurologists, etc, etc...... where he was really unable to enjoy the park. Reading about the GAC, I am wondering if he will be able to get this. I almost feel guilty asking for one, but I think he may better enjoy the parks (as will others around him!). He has not been labelled autistic yet (He will be evaluated in August in Pre-K for autism) but his official diagnosis for now is Developmentally Delayed with Autistic tendencies. Jacob screams, can be inconsolable, and has MANY autism characteristics which we continue this post on forever. I think at this point they are just trying to figure out what part of the spectrum to label him - I have heard PDD, Asbergers, etc for him. Any advice on this??? How would I go about asking my doctor for this note and what needs to be included on it? Should a note come from his therapists or his pediatrican? Like I said, I do feel almost guilty about asking for this card for him but I do want him to enjoy WDW too! Any advice is VERY appreciated!

Melanie

Melanie,