Dec uy and annual fees

Duck1

Earning My Ears
I'm looking at resales with dec uy. If the contract has the full points for 2017 is it typically expected that the buyer will pay full fees for the year? I appreciate everything is negotiable but in my mind I wouldn't be inclined to agree to pay the 2017 fees as I wouldn't take a trip until 2018. I know that theoretically I could use the points in December of this year but assuming I reached a deal, by the time everything was in place etc there would not be anything left to book. But I'm new to this and perhaps I'm overlooking something. Thanks in advance for any assistance!

I think that you may be confusing annual dues and use year. Use year is when your points hit your account, annual dues are due in January regardless of when your use year hits. Just because you have a DEC use year, it doesn't mean the trip will fall in 2017. It means that you have from Dec to July 31 to bank your points.

Thank you for the reply. The seller in the contract I'm negotiating with wants credit for 2017 dues which I thought was odd and that's why I posted the question as I thought that perhaps I'm missing something

That would be typical. If you have use of the points as the buyer then the MF's tend to be paid for by the buyer. If the seller used the points already, they usually offer a purchase credit for points used. Dec UY points haven't yet been loaded so this Dec 2017, your 2017 points should be added.