Debating ecv rental, please help

crc76

Mouseketeer
I have a newly diagnosed tibia tumor that is benign, severe arthritis, and I also have a defect in my knee of the cartilage and bone (which will require full knee replacement, but since I am only 42, they want to wait). Sometimes it causes only minor pain, and sometimes it is awful. I have gotten used to normal everyday activities working through the pain, and I am very good at hiding it. Standing still is my worst enemy. I am not looking forward to the stares since I look relatively healthy. How much of a pain is using a scooter around the parks? It is possible to park it and walk some? I am completely on the fence about renting one. I am honestly having a hard time admitting my new limitations. This is our 6th trip, so I fully understand how much walking and standing is involved.

Last edited:
I've been renting a scooter for our Disney trips for the last 4 years or so. I have severe arthritis in both knees and both need to be replaced and...like yourself... the doctor wants me to wait until I'm older (which frankly the pain and lack of being able to get around is awful but sure). I suppose long story short ...yes...definitely definitely rent a scooter. Disney is about the only place I can go now and be able to get out every day and enjoy myself and go where I want and be out all day and see and do everything and keep up with my kids. It's very easy to use a scooter in the parks - you can take it almost everywhere including in most ques - and transfer out when you're close to getting on the ride. You can very easily park and walk when you want (I usually park and walk into stores but there are times I've taken it in stores if my knees were super bad). I also park and do some rides (like Buzz) if we have a FP since that's one ride where you have to transfer to a wheelchair. There were times a few years ago that I parked it a good deal and was able to use it just for long distances - especially parks like Epcot. No