Day trip to Volcano National Park - Questions

julesthecircusfreak

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone. We are going to Aulani at the end of May/beginning of June and staying for 2 weeks. Under normal circumstances, I never would have imagined going to Hawaii (this will be my first trip) and staying at Aulani for maybe more than 2 nights even though we are DVC members. It's just not how I ever envisioned seeing Hawaii (we definitely always planned more on seeing multiple islands). But with COVID, it seemed the most responsible and safest thing to do would be to stay in the one place and not travel from place to place. This may be the last time we can do a trip like this in awhile due to work life (I'm a medical student and have my last real vacation time for awhile after I take a big exam in May), which is why we're doing it now. All of this being said, we are incredibly excited for our Aulani stay and will explore everything Oahu has to offer (we've rented a car for the 2 weeks).

One of the things that we still would really like to do is visit Volcano National Park on the big island. We have looked into doing day tours, but between being on a tour bus with potentially many other people and the lack of flexibility of doing things on our own once we actually get to the Volcanos (for instance, there are many hikes we'd want to try but it seems the day tours are very specific in what you can do once you get there) and also the other stops along the way (I'm allergic to nuts and DO NOT want to go to a macadamia nut factory), it seems the best way we can do this is to do it on our own.

I know that this likely means getting up super early and heading to the airport for a flight and then renting a vehicle on the big island for the day. As of right now it also seems we'd have to get another COVID test within 72 hrs of the day trip. Has anyone attempted to do this under normal/COVID conditions? Can you tell us your experience/what you did? Any advice? TIA!