Chalk rubbing off?

sconnell

DIS Veteran
Scrapbookers, when using chalk, how do you keep it from rubbing off? Is there a product that you spray on? I remember spraying hairspray on projects when I was a kid, but I don't think that will work. :rotfl:

I think it partly depends on the chalk. I have Chalklets, which hardly leaves much color and crumbles too easily, and fades away too easily (can you tell I want some new chalk??)

The "Decorating Chalks" seem to work well. I have not tried i-kandee yet but intend to order some soon.

As far as spray, I guess you could try some matte finish sealer? Maybe?

I have wondered the same thing myself. I asked someone (I am new to scrapbooking) and the response was basically "it doesn't really rub off". I'm not sure I like that answer :P

I know from doing some charcoal drawings that there is spray that you can get from art stores that "fixes" the drawing so it wont rub or smear. It is made for charcoal/chauk on paper so I would think it would work for scrapbooking; however, I am not sure about it's acid content. I would think it would be safe since it is designed for artwork. I hadn't thought about it until you said something about hairspray... I have a can of it at home I will have to look at it.

I remember from art classes in high school and college, there is some sort of spray to put on chalk, but I can't remember what it is called. Any art or craft store shoud be able to help you find it though. Good luck!

There is a fixative spray that can be used on chalk drawings...darned if I can't think of the name of it, either. I work @ Michaels and do a lot of the in-store demos at my store, and even used this spray in one of them.....darn it. :blush:

Sorry for the lack of info. I can tell you it's carried in the store back by the adhesives & spray paint. If you haven't gotten a definite answer before the next time I work, I'll check on it and report back. :)