Car rental from HNL!

eeyoresmom

DIS Veteran
I'm trying to use rewards points from Chase to book a rental car from 1/26-2/02, one week. I'm getting average price of around $600. Is that what I should expect to pay for a regular car at that time of year in Honolulu? With the additional parking fees We'll be spending close to $1000 for the rental!

Did you try doing a search on Expedia or Travelocity? I just looked and found some in the $4-500 range

I just paid 450 total for one week and it was a really decent Dodge charger.
Also the paying for gas upfront is really not smart. It's much easier to return a vehicle with a full tank than it is empty.

I have gone that week the last 3 years and never paid over $300 for a full size car. I have been checking for 2020 and the prices are high right now, but I anticipate they will drop.

Whew! Thanks for the encouragement. I've been debating nixing the trip for now since I just cant stomach those prices. I will stalk the deals as i usually do I just didnt know if those numbers were in line.

I've been seeing $850+ for an SUV for 9 nights in Feb on the Chase portal, which seems crazy (although I don't rent cars often). I really wanted to book on points, but at this point I'm going to search elsewhere for a better deal. I've heard Costco is best

I've been seeing $850+ for an SUV for 9 nights in Feb on the Chase portal, which seems crazy (although I don't rent cars often). I really wanted to book on points, but at this point I'm going to search elsewhere for a better deal. I've heard Costco is best
Wow - it looks like they are really raising the prices on that portal.

Wow - it looks like they are really raising the prices on that portal.
Yeah, it's painful. I'm looking at the Delta vacation promo and may use the points for a different trip and pay OOP for the rental.

We just booked a Luxory vehicle for 12 days for $499 all taxes/charges included.