Books on Functional Curriculums?

isyne4u

<font color=blue>Next time I get a craving for cak
This is not a disney question but I'm hoping that you all can help me out.

I am a teacher of the Deaf and I currently have a child with multiple disabilities. I don't want to go into specifics but I will say he has always been on a "regular iep" and should not have been. Now I have him and I need to write a more appropriate iep with functional skills.

My problem is that I have always had your basic deaf kid and have not needed to write a functional iep. Now I need some place to look for the kinds of goals that he really needs. Does anyone have any idas on books that have functional iep goals or know of any websites that might help me?

I have searched amazon and I've googled it a hundred times and I just am not coming up with stuff to really help me.

TIA for any help anyone can provide.
tara

I can't help you with any answers to your question, but did want to say that this board welcomes questions about disabilities whether they are directly Disney related or not.
Some of the other boards get so many questions that a question asked in the morning is one page 3 by afternoon. Those boards have to be a little more careful to stay on topic, but we're not so busy.

Have you checked out the Different Roads to Learning catalog or website ? It is mainly for autism but it does have several resources on goal setting and curriculum and some of them would probably be appropriate. I also like Pro-Ed, Enable-Mart, the Me Book from Lovaas, and Catherine Maurice's book on programming.

Sue Ellen...Thank you for letting me know it was okay to do a nonDisney question.

Wide awake..Thank you for the suggestions. I went to the website of Different Roads to Learning and ordered a catalog. I am going to look at Pro-Ed next. I tried enable and that led me back to Different Roads.

Thank you for the help!
tara