Becoming Disney Travel Agent

Kristine Luengas

Earning My Ears
Hello! I am very interested in becoming a Disney travel agent whether that be independent or for a company. Is there anybody here that can send me down the right direction? I have been doing my research and would just like some more help. I am a full-time college student who only has classes for three hours on Tuesdays and Thursday so I have plenty of time to dedicate to this! Thank you in advance!

Welcome!! If all you want is “how to become a Disney TA” I’m sorry. This is not what we do here. But if you want opinions on the idea...

Ok. Being a TA is a thankless, time consuming & expensive endeavor. You say you’re a “full time student” with 6 hours of classes a week so I concur you definitely have the time for this. You have lots of time on your hands, but remember time is money. The opportunity cost you face is what else you could be doing with your time. It’s easy to get sucked into planning trips and re-booking trips and not realizing that the amount of money you made divided by hours spent was WELL under what you’d have made working a minimum wage job. Hopefully you don’t need to actually make money? Because if you do RUN. Do not walk. RUN away from this idea. You need to either launch your own agency *faint* or get hooked up with a current travel agency that sells Disney with whom you will work a deal to become an agent (this can involve paying them money and/or then paying them parts of your already small commissions). Unless you’re dedicated to making a go of it and you don’t need to make money and you can afford to lose money- don’t do it. If you can check off all 3 of those boxes my hat is off to you and I honestly wish you the best of luck.