April vacation V. Memorial Day weekend

vanessapas

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone,

I'm in the process of planning my family's first trip to WDW. I have been several times, but need help on picking a time to go. I'm a teacher in MA, so I can only go during vacation times. I need help deciding between April vacation and Memorial Day weekend. I've done some research and it seems like Memorial Day is slightly cheaper for flights and hotels, but not enough to make a big difference. I have been a few times during April vacation so I'm familiar with those crowds and strategies to avoid them. Has anyone been at both times that can comment on crowd levels?

I think you'd get more TIME during april break. Memorial day weekend is a blink and you missed it trip, unless you get the friday before it off.

April break next year won't have easter in either of the weekends, so that should help slightly with the pricing compared to this year.

Personally if you can brave the heat, I'd do mid to late August. I did that one year with my teacher family.

I’m a teacher in MA too and we will be going during April break next year since it won’t be Easter week. Haven’t been Memorial Day weekend but I personally wouldn’t want to cram everything into such a short window. My district is also stingy around granting extra personal days around a long weekend... As previous poster said, it’s hot but the last week of August is super low on crowds - we have gone for the last 2 years. But we also started school after Labor Day so not sure if that would work where you are.