AP Holders, newbie here and have some questions

momofmikey

Mommy also to Daniel and Lauren
I will be upgrading my 8DPHs at the end of this month to APs. We go yearly end of August, but next year, my daughter's dance team is competing end of June, so I think it pays to get APs. Plus, with the decreasing value of the free dining promo, seems like a good idea. Never had them before, so have some questions.

I understand there's not an AP discount if we purchase the dining plan, but there can be room discounts for that time period? Does anyone know what they were for this month?

The cost of the Memory Maker is included? I will be upgrading my tickets on the last day of my trip, would I be able to activate the Memory Maker then?

Any other perks associated with being AP Holder?

Thanks!

We don't do the dining plan. Food depending on the restaurant is 10-30% off. Rooms are usually discounted too depending on the season and level of accommodations. Free parking and memory maker is included depending which AP you get. If you're going more than 10 days or 3x a year plus we think it's worth it!!

I always recommend when considering an AP don't take any discounts into consideration. Compare apples to apples and go strictly based on the cost of tickets plus memory maker if you normally get it. The discounts are never guaranteed and subject to change all the time. We were there last week and I got a discount in only one place we ate and the general discount staked with an Orbitz discount was better than the AP discount. If you don't normally get hoppers, don't use the hopper rate when comparing prices since it's not what you would have really paid.

Yes, your memory maker will be active from the first day in the parks, as will your AP expiration date so it really doesn't help you any to wait until your last day.