Anyone have a child with leukemia?

Dancin Desert

Mouseketeer
Hello,

I'm not a doctor, nor do I work in the medical field in any capacity. I'm just a dad; one whose youngest son is beating Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. He was diagnosed with that dreaded disease on 11/5/04. On 5/8/07, he was told he is "leukemia free". While he is not completely out of the woods (he needs to be "leukemia free" for 5 years until he can be pronounced "cured"), much of his "former" life has returned to almost normal. He is almost 7 years old now, and I'm oh-so-thankful.

If you're a parent of a child with leukemia, especially newly diagnosed, I'm here for you. I've been afraid, scared, angry, curious, thankful, exhausted, rejuvenated ... you name it, I've been there.

If you don't want to write back, that's fine. Just know that you are not alone, and that someone is praying for you.

Dave

I am responding with hugs and prayers. Your post really hit home to me. That is not a club anyone wants to join, but sadly some have to..

I am SO happy to hear your son is beating it...God bless your entire family..

:hug: :hug: :hug: :grouphug: :grouphug: :grouphug:

Thanks.
But I don't need prayers concerning leukemia. My son and all of the doctors and nurses need them. Without the love and devotion of the health care professionals, and the gifts they've been given by God, my son wouldn't be around today.

You're right, I don't like being in this "club". If however, that is/was God's plan, then I'm here ... front and center.

Was/Is there a "positive" from this for me and my family? I think that my sons and I have all learned not to stare at those who are different, but to show compassion and get to know those people better. After all, some of my sons' closest friends have/had leukemia and I am friends with their parents.

Take care.

Dave