Any 16:8 Intermittent Fasters? Just Started and Could Use Advice.

pershing

DIS Veteran
Hi,

I have just started doing 16:8 fasting and I could use some advice. I'm ending up eating only 2 meals. Today I only ate one and a snack. It was a big meal though and probably had a days worth of calories, but I'm wondering if I'm doing this right. They say, "Listen to your body," and I am. It's just that I'm having a hard time cramming nutrients into 8 hours, so I wonder what everyone else eats when they do this?

I've got to say, I love the way I feel since I've started! I'm so alert, and I get so much more stuff done. I'm very heavy and I always felt like I had some metabolic syndrome thing going, but I never tested positive for anything. I don't plan on adding any ketogenic aspect until I've been doing this a month. They say it takes 60 days to develop a habit, so that is what I'm doing.

Anyone else have any experience with this?

I've been doing 16:8 for almost four years. I try to eat nutrient dense foods early in the day (salad, fruits, nuts). The rest of the day is just getting my daily calories (I don't eat many empty calories). I've loosened the reins somewhat... 5 days are 15.5:8.5, and two days are 14:10. I lost nearly forty pounds the first year and have been stable ever since. Good luck.

I workout most days of the week... first thing in the morning in a fasted state.

I'm no expert... I can share what I've done :: shrug ::
Good luck! :: high five ::

Last edited:
Thanks so much.

I have been falling into over eating during the 6 hours lately so the scale stopped moving down. Do you do Keto too? It seems like everyone does it with Keto, but I'm not ready for that yet. I have been having a light meal after the 16 hours are up, and I am lowering my carbs. Also, upping my veggies and fruit, but I wouldn't call it nutrient dense yet.