2042 Deed Expiration

bgdis

Earning My Ears
Hello Everyone,

I’m a longtime Disney vacationer, and I’ve finally decided to take the step to buy into DVC.

I’m very new to all of this, and it’s amazing how much there is to know. In shopping around for the right resale contract, I’ve learned that members at Old Key West were offered an option to extend their contract.

As I said, I’m new, so I apologize if this has already been discussed elsewhere, but I want to ask: is there any speculation/information about whether Disney will be offering such an extension for other “older” DVC resorts ( Beach Club, Boardwalk, etc.)?

With every passing day, extensions seem more and more unlikely. The OKW extension was more than 10 years ago. At this point, Disney has far more money to make by taking-back ownership in 2042 and selling entirely new 50 year contracts.

Hello Everyone,

I’m a longtime Disney vacationer, and I’ve finally decided to take the step to buy into DVC.

I’m very new to all of this, and it’s amazing how much there is to know. In shopping around for the right resale contract, I’ve learned that members at Old Key West were offered an option to extend their contract.

As I said, I’m new, so I apologize if this has already been discussed elsewhere, but I want to ask: is there any speculation/information about whether Disney will be offering such an extension for other “older” DVC resorts ( Beach Club, Boardwalk, etc.)?
Agree with tjkraz. Disney literally has no incentive to extend the contracts, especially since there isn't a way to do so equitably--when they attempted to "force" OKW owners to do so years ago, it was met with a great deal of rancor and unrest. They won't want to go down that path again.

That being said, your unasked inquiry appears to be "do you think it's wise to buy a resale at a resort whose contract expires in 2042?" To that I pose the following: