2019 points...WWYD?

SecondEventuality

Mouseketeer
Hey all!

So we recently bought two 50 point contracts through Disney directly for OKW and our use year is August - with both contracts we received 2019 points, so we have 100 pts ready to roll in our account right now. However, we aren't planning to go to WDW until November 2020 and even then using all 100 will be a stretch since 7 nights in a studio during Choice Season is only 78 points, so I'm seeing if we can do 9 nights instead to use as much as possible each year. Maybe even a split stay with another resort?

What would you do with them? Rent, transfer, bank, or something else like stay in a nicer resort for 200 pts during Nov trip?

Just curious to see if there are options that I haven't considered since I'm new to all this! Thanks! :)

I would consider using them, but in a way to stretch for over a few years. I love split stays but what you could do is shoot for banking them.

Then look at getting a better view or larger room. Maybe shoot for using 125 points. if you did that, it take 4 years in which you could get a little more out of the trip in terms of better views, larger rooms or even a few extra nights!

i had thought about this for my new RIV points. Maybe transfer to offset costs. Well, I decided that I could squeeze in another trip, cover more of my June trip with those points, and upgrade a few more trips to VGF or ensure I can book preferred studios if I can’t get SV at RIV.

Remember, if you bank 2019 to use, you can always rent or transfer 2020 if you can’t find a way to use all of them. No need to make the decision before you try for your first trip just next month!

I would consider using them, but in a way to stretch for over a few years.

Interesting idea, Sandi! Thank you! So basically always having an excess that provides flexibility and banking means that no points ever expire since when you make a reservation, it will always grab the oldest points first?