1 way trip San Diego-> San Francisco?

LattNJ

Mouseketeer
My husband, girls and I are planning a trip to California this July. This will be our first trip to California. I am just beginning to plan this trip. I first planned on flying into San Francisco, renting a car, continuing on to Yosemite, Hollywood/LA, Disney and then San Diego and flying home from San Diego. Looking at car rental prices, I have discovered renting a car in San Diego and then returning it to San Francisco is a fraction of the cost of San Francisco to San Diego. Is there any reason I would not want to start in San Diego and end in San Francisco?

Second question is, I see 1 way airline tickets to/from JFK from both San Diego and San Francisco is in the $199 range right now. Seems like a reasonable price, but I have never looked at these fares before. I was trying to find this site I had used in the past that tells you whether you should buy now or wait but can't find it.

Thanks for the advice.

Unless you have something you needed to do (i.e. wedding, reunion) in San Francisco I don't know of reason why reversing the order of the trip would be a problem. The flight price seem reasonable to me , but we don't play around much with checking for price. Book a reasonable fare then I start planning the rest.

I have no useful advice or info (lol), but had to respond because I am planning nearly the same trip! :cool1:

Our plan (thus far):
Arrive San Francisco July 28
Yosemite July 31
Sequoia Aug 3
Disneyland Aug 5
Day trip to San Diego Aug 8
Depart Aug 11

We were originally going to depart from San Diego but flights from Los Angeles were substantially less so we decided to just make a (long) day trip to San Diego for a day at the zoo.